top of page

Getting Lost

Despite the advent of smartphones, Google Maps, Apple Maps (should I even put that in the same sentence as Google Maps? :P), or what have you, chances are you're going to get lost at some point while you're in the UK, as this technology can only cover so much of the surrounding areas and places. In addition, reception can be poor, making it difficult at times to get directions from where you are. You may also encounter connundrums like this one:

Above you see a doorsign on Trumpington Street, one of the major streets that goes through the Cambridge campus and leads you directly to the Department of Engineering. It would seem that this doorsign indicates that you are at 54 Trumpington Street. I was looking for 56 Trumpington Street , the location of the GP (General Practitioner or doctor) that I wanted to register with (you are strongly recommended if not required to do so). You would think that it was right next to it, but it turns out the office was two blocks away from this building! Yes, and there were at least five buildings in-between! In hindsight, I would imagine the 54 was put there for another purpose, but certainly not for address reasons, unless it was hung up to troll people, in which case: well played.

Fortunately, such misleading signs are quite rare, but even still, you might find yourself lost at some point or another. It's okay! In fact, during the first few days, I have found it to be somewhat beneficial to get lost in Cambridge or London because it exposed me to other parts of the city that I wouldn't have otherwise explored. Just the other day, I was trying to walk back to college from a shop in that shopping area I described to you in my previous post. Unfortunately, I had made a wrong turn and found myself even further away from campus! It was there though that I discovered a nice park and a Pizza Hut - good to know in case I accidentally miss a meal in the buttery (dining hall).

There's another reason why it's probably okay to get lost in the UK: they have some of the best signage I have ever seen. It blows away anything I have seen back in the States. Take a look at these photos:

Yes, they even have signs for toilets. How cool is that? I find myself hard-pressed to find similar signs back home, though please let me know otherwise! In fact, those signs above are just representative of the many such signs you will see as you walk along the streets of either London or Cambridge. One might point out, "But aren't these maps in places where there are a lot of tourists?" Yes, that may be true, but the US has a lot of touristy places. I cannot recall seeing maps of such detail in those locations (again, feel free to point out otherwise!). In fact, it was how I was able to find my way back to college when I accidentally made that wrong turn from the shop that I was describing above! I found one of these maps at one of the park corners and figured out my way back from there. Thus, even if you find yourself lost, there very well may be a map or signpost somewhere around where you are that can lead you in the right direction. So don't panic if you suddenly realize you're in an unfamiliar place when you're here! Most likely, help is nearby, and in the worst case, just ask a local. They'll certainly be glad to help you out.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page