top of page

Jingles Bop!


Happy end of term, everyone! Yes, I have officially made it through 1/3 of Cambridge! While the remaining 2/3 of the year will certainly be tougher than this one (six classes or modules next term instead of four, and then the long-awaited Tripos (final exams) the term after!), this term was tough in itself because it was my first term here, and I had to get adjusted to the academic system at Cambridge. At least I won't have that problem in the subsequent two terms...I hope.

I'm not here to talk about academics though in this post, but that will be coming soon! No, I'm here to talk about the surprise I got this week: Jingles Bop! In an earlier post titled "The Importance of Moderation," I wrote about how over-the-top drunkeness and rowdy behaviour resulted in the cancellation of all bops for the remainder of the term. In fact, it got worse afterwards because there was even considerations of cancelling bops for the rest of the year, which would have been a major disappointment since I'm only here for this year. However, after much negotiation and discussion it seems, the JCR was able to host this bop, the traditional bop to celebrate the end of the term and the Christmas season.

Having never been to a bop before, I was a little bit apprehensive as to how things would turn out given the previous bops. However, as I knew that the administration was allowing bops to continue contingent on good behaviour during this bop, I figured that students would be less inclined to "go crazy." As bops usually do, it began down at the bar for a pre-drinking session. Given my apprehension, I decided to refrain from much drinking and chose just to socialize with friends and people I knew in college. As they say, "Time flies when you're having fun," and while I arrived at the bar at around 11:15, it was suddenly midnight when people started heading to the bop, which was taking place right across from the bar.

One major change from previous bops to this bop was the redesignation of the bop bar as the "chill room." In an effort to curb drunkeness and the consequences of being overly intoxicated, this "chill room" was designated for people to "chill out," whether sober or intoxicated, and had the necessary equipment (e.g. mops, buckets) in case people needed relieve themselves due to their pre-drinking. It also had soft drinks and biscuits (crackers not actual biscuits as we know them!), which I gladly helped myself to once the bop was over.

When it comes to a bop or any sort of disco party, one rule of thumb is that you shouldn't be alone. As I did not come with anyone, my top priority was to find a group of people whom I knew and stick with them. Luckily, that wasn't too difficult, as one of my friends found me, and I prompty joined him and his other friends, some of whom I also knew. Most of them luckily were quite sober, albeit a little awkard at dancing, but hey, I'll admit that no one's moves were really that impressive that night.

It was quite a lot of fun as a whole. The music selection was pretty good (most of the songs were pretty well known, and there was a brief Christmas medley in the middle), so it wasn't too hard to get into the mood. Despite the administration's best efforts though, there were clearly some people who were intoxicated (being able to stand upright is one indicator!), and then there were some who were really getting it on with each other at more remote parts of the dance floor. However, as a whole, there was definitely no "out of control" behaviour that I imagined must have occurred at the last bop.

Sorry that I don't have any pictures to share! There was some picture-worthy moments, like the inflatable snowman in the bar (kind of like the one in the picture you see above) or the sign at bop, which said "Merry Christmas, ho, ho, home" upside-down. However, I decided to not bring too many valuables to such an event as a precaution. Besides, taking a picture right in the middle of dancing kind of breaks the rhythm if you know what I mean. And if you don't, then relegate it to that I was just blabbering nonsense :P

Well certainly the bop was a good way to close out the term! Again, look out for my posts on Cambridge academics! Also, for those sophomores intending to apply to CME, look out for a post regarding application advice some time in mid-December once your finals are done! I will leave you with one piece of advice though: focus on your grades! MIT wants to make sure that you can handle Cambridge's academic system, and good grades (by which I mean a combination of A's and B's at the least probably) at MIT will be a good indicator that you'll be able to do so.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page